## NEWBOTTLE PARISH COUNCIL

## MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY PARISH COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON ZOOM ON MONDAY 30 NOVEMBER 2020 AT 7.30PM

PRESENT: Councillors Linda Baker, Richard Bland, Michael Loggin and Diana Sheasby.

ALSO IN ATTENDANCE: Theresa Goss (Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer) and 13 members of the public.

APOLOGIES: Parish Councillor Andrew Woods submitted his apologies because he was at work, the apologies were

accepted and the absence authorised.

Councillor Andrea Gladden was not present.

In the absence of the Chairman Councillor Andrew Woods, Councillor Michael Loggin chaired the meeting.

**55/20** Declaration of Interests – There were no declarations of interest.

**Charlton Village Shop & Post Office** – Councillor Michael Loggin gave an overview of the potential closure of the shop and post office and explained why an extraordinary meeting of the Parish Council had been called.

There was a discussion between the current owners and the residents of the village and it was agreed that it would be in the best interests of the village for them to remain open.

Following a lengthy discussion with regard to how the shop and post office could continue and the timescales involved, it was agreed that a Working Group be set up to look into the matter further. The Group would then report back in the next two or three weeks on the options which were available.

The Chairman thanked everyone for attending.

## Resolved that:

- 1) a Working Group be established to investigate the matter further and the members be Michael Ewence (Chairman), Struan Kenton, Mark Bracey, Jenny Barker, Della Wolfe and Deborah Democoli;
- 2) the Plunkett Foundation and Graham Simmonds from the Post Office Service be contacted for advice:
- 3) other Community Shops and Post Offices in the area be contacted for advice; and
- 4) a further meeting of the Parish Council be convened, as and when necessary.

**57/20** Meeting Dates - The Parish Council noted the following meeting dates, all commencing at 7.30pm at on Zoom:

- 18 January 2021
- 15 March 2021
- 19 April 2020 (Annual Parish Meeting)
- 19 July 2021
- 20 September 2021
- 15 November 2021

(The meeting closed at 8.30pm)
Signed, Chairman – 21 January 2021